Nautical Napkins

I was walking through my local stitch shop drooling over the beautiful fabric they have scattered throughout the store.

Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 3.44.27 PM

See that little stack with the red & blue lobsters? It called to me. I picked up the sweet little stack and drooled over the variations! The light blue whales in the top left corner was not part of the original group, but since the bride had a whale theme I felt the need to include them.

DSC_0183

I then tried to figure out what size to make the napkins since they were pre-cut fat quarters.

IMG_8404 IMG_8405 IMG_8406

Do I go for the large size? Medium? Small?

I finally decided on the small size, each quarter becoming 4 small napkins.

IMG_8451

Having a cutting board, ruler and rotary cutter has been amazing. It makes a huge difference in terms of cutting a bunch at time.

I followed these steps to make mitered corners. It became easier and easier to make each one. The burnt fingers was not fun, but using an iron made a HUGE difference.

IMG_8452IMG_8464

In the end the napkins worked out perfectly and were so much fun to do. I can’t wait to make more!

IMG_8640

xoxo Hannah

3 thoughts on “Nautical Napkins

Leave a Reply

