Pies for Pi Day

It was a historic pi day yesterday! Why, you ask? So pi is 3.1415926 (etc.) and because it was 3/14/15 not just 3/14/_whatever year_ we got more matching digits than normal!

Anyways, it seemed like a good excuse to do some themed baking. Enter, mini apple pies! I adapted this recipe, details below.

Ingredients: 

Filling

  1. 4 red apples
  2. 3/4 cup sugar
  3. 2 tsp cinnamon
  4. 6 tbsp flour
  5. 2 tbsp butter (chilled)

Crust

  1. 2 cups flour
  2. 2/3 cup butter (chilled)
  3. 1 tsp salt
  4. 4 tbsp water

How-to: 

  1. Peel and chop the apples into small little cubes.
  2. Mix the apples with the sugar and cinnamon and set aside.
  3. Pre-heat the over to 425. Grease a muffin pan with butter and flour the individual muffin-wells (put a little bit of flour in each well, then tap it around so it spreads evenly and sticks to the butter. Discard excess flour).
  4. Cut the chilled butter into cubes, blend with flour and salt in a food processor until it looks like little peas. If you use salted butter, skip adding the additional salt! This step took a lot longer than I was anticipating, but I think that’s because a lot of the butter got stuck to the bottom of my food processor (maybe I just don’t have a great food processor though!) so be careful – you might have to stop and stir things up. Or perhaps not cubing the butter would have been better? I’ll have to make them again and experiment…
  5. Transfer the contents of the food processor into a mixing bowl and add the water, mixing by hand until well combined.
  6. Divide in half, and then roll each half out on a lightly floured surface until about 1/4 inch thick. I’ll be honest, I did not measure the thickness, I just tried to get it thin enough to not have the mini-pies be too crust heavy, but thick enough so that the crust would rip when I molded them into the muffin tin. You may have to add more water to the dough if the second half dries out while you’re rolling the first.
  7. Cut dough into circles – I used a round 2-cup ziplock tupperware as my “cookie cutter” because this turned out to be the right size for my muffin tins (they recommend cutting circles with a 4″ in diameter). This recipe made just enough pie crust to cut those 12 circles and have extra to decorate…
  8. At this point, return to your filling and add the flour and mix it all up.
  9. Place dough circles into muffin wells and mold to fit. Fill to desired height with filling. I filled until the filling reached the top of the crust on the sides because I wanted my shapes to lie flat on top, but you could overfill too if you want to maximize the apple part!
  10. Use excess pie crust to decorate the tops of the pies as you wish! This time I made pi-day related shapes, but you could leave them open, create a lattice, just do a bunch of hearts, spell out happy birthday, etc. If you want to make whole pie tops you might want to make at least 50% more pie crust though, so you have enough.
  11. Cut the 2 tbsp chilled butter into 12 pieces and top each mini-pie with a piece (could easily skip this step if you’re aiming to be slightly healthier).
  12. Bake at 425 degrees for 16-18 minutes. (Until crust is light brown and apples are bubbling).
  13. Remove gently and let cool on a cooling rack.
  14. Enjoy!!

Notes: Next time I’d like to roll the pie crust a slight bit thinner so there’s a better filling to crust ratio. I might try with a different pie crust recipe to see if that helps… I’ll keep ya posted if I do.

XOXO ALLIE

Leave a Reply

