Turkey Meatballs

With approximately three hours before a marathon six-hour meeting with my capstone team last night (my Master’s thesis is a group consulting project known as “capstone”) I decided it would be a great idea to make a bunch of meatballs for the first time. Just another typical, hyper-glamorous grad school saturday.

While I surely could have used those three hours to fit in a little more research (or call my mom or do my laundry… hmmm) I have no regrets because these meatballs were super easy to make and also delicious, filling, and healthy. Also now I’ve got a few meals covered for the week!

Down to business. I adapted a recipe from The Bossy Italian Wife – you can find the original here.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 lb ground turkey meat (my package was 1.3 lbs aka 20.8 oz)
  2. 5 cloves of garlic
  3. 1 egg
  4. 1/3 cup whole wheat breadcrumbs
  5. 1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
  6. 1 tsp italian spice mix
  7. 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
  8. Generous dash of salt
  9. Generous several twists from black pepper grinder

How-to: 

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400.
  2. Cover 1 large baking sheet with parchment paper.
  3. Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Mush everything up with your hands!
  4. Place rounded meatballs onto baking sheet. I split into 24 and packed them in real. tight – they won’t expand so no worries on that front.
  5. Bake for approximately 30 minutes (my oven is wonky so you may need more or less time).

Note: meatballs should be cooked to an internal temp of 160, but i do not have a meat thermometer so my back-up safety check was to cut one meatball in half on opposite corners of the pan to make sure they had been cooked through. Again, my oven is a bit uneven so adjust your test accordingly!

Nutritional info: 

Taken all together the batch was approximately 1,200 calories. I divided into 24 meatballs, so that’s approximately 50 calories/meatball. I like about 4 meatballs to go with my pasta serving. NOM.

XOXO ALLIE

One thought on “Turkey Meatballs

Leave a Reply

