Challah!

A few years ago I started learning how to bake bread. I loved it. The sciencey part of equal parts and perfect temperature, and the love part of a nice loaf of bread coming out of an oven. I immediately fell in love with making challah, I loved eating it so I thought I would love making it. I did.

The funny part began when a few years ago I came up with the brilliant idea of dyeing different strands of the dough different colors. So when cut, it would be all swirled on the inside. So Easter Challah was born. (As a pretty unreligious person the hilarity of Easter Challah was later pointed out to me.

I’ve done it every year since though, as well as a 4th of July one. Spiraled Challah is one of my favorite things to make now…


Recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3⁄4 cup plus 2 tbsp Milk, heated
  • 1⁄4 cup plus 2tsp Sugar
  • 1 packet of Yeast
  • 4 tbsp unsalted Butter, melted
  • 2 Eggs
  • 4 cups of Flour
  • 1 1⁄2 tsp Salt
  • 1 Egg Yolk

Step One

Stir Milk, 1 tsp Sugar, and Yeast into a bowl; sit for 10 minutes. Meanwhile whisk Eggs and Butter. Add to Yeast mixture and combine. Add Flour and the rest of the Sugar and Salt and stir until dough forms. Knead for about 8 minutes, move to greased bowl, cover with plastic wrap 1 hour. Then uncover, punch down and rise another 30 minutes.

Step Two

Uncover dough, braid it (here you can dye the different strands if so inclined), and put it on a parchment lined baking sheet and cover it with plastic wrap for 1 hour.

Step Three

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Stir the egg yolk and some water and brush it over the loaf, sprinkle with course salt. Bake until brown 30 minutes.

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 11.09.39 AM Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 11.11.25 AM

xoxo Hannah

Leave a Reply

